Huh? Those are MY Posts!
Published by Toni February 7th, 2006 in Uncategorized.UPDATE: I just noticed that at the very bottom of each article, he does put a link to the original source. Seeing as he technically credits me, does it make what he does acceptable?
————————————————————————————————
I was going through Technorati to see who has linked to me on my Reel Reviews blog when I found this website. Scroll down a bit. What do you see there?
That’s right. My posts are there! Reproduced in their entirety! This person has been taking my posts from Reel Reviews (and posts of a few other bloggers) and putting them in his/her blog.
Granted, this blogger does credit me and the others, and he calls us “contributors”, as if we agreed to this arrangement. I never received any email from this person requesting permission to repost all my articles on his site.
I’m not sure what to do. Does he have the right to do this, seeing as he does technically give me credit? I can understand if he posted excerpts, then linked to the rest of the article, but he’s full on posting the whole thing. And when I checked the images, he didn’t even bother to save them onto his own server. He’s stealing my bandwidth!
I can’t email him since he doesn’t provide an email address, and I can’t leave comments since his comments are turned off.
Advice, you guys???
17 Responses to “Huh? Those are MY Posts!”
- 1 Pingback on Feb 13th, 2006 at 12:11 pm
- 2 Pingback on Feb 17th, 2006 at 7:17 pm
Leave a Reply
Note: If your response doesn't show up right away, it's possible that my Akismet spam catcher accidentally caught it. Don't worry, I'll rescue it from the moderation bin so there's no need for you to resend it.



The whois for this domain is:
Soheil Ansari domain@pasargadhost.com +98.09123149307
Pasargad Host
No.2, Alihoseini St, Ferdos Blvd, Sadeghiye Sq
Tehran,Tehran,IR 3175757447
Who knows whether or not its real or fake. I’d change your pic of “the 40 year old virgin” To the Mohammed cartoon. At least that way you can conserve bandwidth and send a message.
First thing I would do is create an htaccess file so that he can’t leech your image files. Go to the WordPress codex to find out how to do that or your hosting service might have an option that does it for you. Then I would wish that the thief would come down with a really bad case of gonorrhea or have a parasite swim up is schlong.
Drogulus- How’d you find out his information? I’m not very skilled at that sort of thing. So I should email his domain host and let them know about this. What if they don’t understand English?
I’d like to put in the Mohammed pics, but I don’t want him to go Jihad on my ass
Marvo- I’ve heard of those htaccess files, but I’m not sure how to make one. I’ll give it a try. Wait…I just realized…this is a Wordpress.com blog. I can’t upload any files to it via FTP, for example.
I love the substituting the Mohammed cartoons idea - failing that, just replace them with a big “I AM A BANDWIDTH THIEF AND PLAGIARISER” drawing. I wonder if you know of an email address for the Iranian religious police so they can do him for following decadent Western stuff…
Oh, and click on the “Ads by Goooooogle” button on his web site and report him for stealing your stuff - I just have. And finally, find the host of the web site and report to them too, but that seems to be all in Arabic…
Thats just creeepy and wrong.I could see showing part of the story and linking to you but this is even more lazy than I am.Great idea about changing the pic.Remane a messed up pic with the same name.
I just checked the registration info for the domain using WhoIs. Not always accurate… but sometimes people put in their real info.
I think you should send him up the bomb.
Unfortunately the notion of copyright and property on the Internet is just that, a notion. I had a class on it laws and e-commerce… You have already done the best thing there is to do which is calling it out on your blog. You might consider using some reverse psychology on the blogger and emailing him or her with a thank you note saying that imitation is the highest form of flattery ;).
Thanks for the advice you guys.
Ken- I went ahead and reported him to “Ads by Google”. I’ll try to contact the host of his blog…hopefully they can understand English.
Foo- The messed up pic idea is becoming more appealing, but I think I’ll approach this situation diplomatically.
Drogulus- Thanks for the URL for whois. I’ve heard people using this before, but I didn’t know that it was a website. I thought you have to do some complicated thing. BTW, love the Zero Wing reference
Damon- I know that it’s hard to implement copyright laws on the internet, but in this case I’m aware of who is doing it, and I have to do something about it.
Like I said, I think I’ll be a little diplomatic first. Since I can’t leave comments on his blog and he has no email address available, I’ll put up a post about plagiarism and specifically direct the post at him. As it is, I’ve put up a page on copyright, but I doubt he’ll be reading that page.
I hate those people who just does that. If you can’t email him/her, you can try reporting her website to his/her host.
I think I told you about the time someone replicated my entire blog and called it his own. Maybe people from other countries have different rules as far as internet etiquette/copyright regulations, but stealing someone’s bandwidth and copying and pasting a whole entry (not citing or quoting) is just plain wrong. I like Ken’s idea about changing that image he hijacked and changing it to “I steal other people’s bandwidths and writing” or whatever. I saw it somewhere once, and I remember thinking… “boy, if I were this person, I’d be super embarrassed…”
Also, I wonder if the other “contributors” know that they are “contributing” to this blog. Maybe you want to give them a heads up?
Haemi- I’ve publicly addressed him on this issue. Check out my blog. I had no choice since he provides no email address and way to comment. I’m giving him a chance to do something about it, but if he ignores my requests, I’ll go ahead and replace the images with something else to embarrass him.
Yes, I’ve contacted the other “contributors” and told them about this. So far they haven’t said anything. Maybe they just don’t care?
the who is site does list a few email addresses… Although you’d probably get nothing but spam for sending mail there.
Good point Drogulus. I don’t want to risk getting spam.